• Best Movie  

  • Posters and Trailers  

  • Animated Feature Film  

  • Tribute to...  

  • In Memory of...  

  • Interesting Facts  

  • Contenders : Oscar®2016  

  • About..

  • Welcome to the best Oscar®-winning movies home page

    The Academy Awards, commonly known as the Oscars, is an annual ceremony of American origin commemorating cinematic achievements in the film industry. The statuettes were originally designed by the chief art director for the Metro-Goldwyn-Mayer, Cedric Gibbons and sculpted by George Stanley, a Los Angeles artist. The Oscars were firstly discussed in 1927 by
    Louis B. Mayer
    M-G-M studio chief and film producer
    and other guests while they were having dinner at his home. After the foundation of the
    Academy Motion Picture for Arts and Sciences
    , Douglas Fairbanks was elected as the Academy’s president starting from 1927 to 1929. The seven-person committee proposes to the Board that awards should be presented in 12 categories: cinematography, actor, actress, art direction, directing comedy and dramatic picture), unique and artistic picture, engineering effects, outstanding picture, writing and finally special award. The first ceremony happened during a banquet at the Roosevelt Hotel’s Blossom Room in May 16, 1929 with around 270 attendees. However, the winners were revealed three months earlier. Starting from 2013 to now, Cheryl Boone Isaacs has been the Academy’s president.

    Design and research by Lydia Saleh